Perplexed 

Over the past 3 days, my phone has started autocorrecting I’ve to IVF. How helpful. This is MY LIFE…

Right now, we obviously don’t know what exactly our next step will be…but we are about 99.5% sure we will be going the IVF route. I can’t really explain how I feel about this. 

Perplexed.

Sad.

Confused.

Annoyed.

Disappointed.

Questioning.

Uncertain.

Angry. 

Scared. 

I have been reading as much as I can about it (it’s how I handle things, I read as much as possible,) and already wish I knew about 75% less. This, the egg retrieval process, falls into major surgery. I’ve never had surgery, of ANY kind. I’ve never had anesthesia, of ANY kind. I’ve never had a prescription for pain meds, of ANY kind. Now, it could be all three at once. The amount of medication seems to be astronomical, and quite intimidating. Again, there’s NO certainty with this. Yes, chances increase drastically, I’m talking upwards of 40%, but even then the odds don’t really seem to be in your favor. 

I should be getting a call tomorrow to schedule our next appointment to determine next course of action. For now, I’m going to stop reading about IVF, because it truly scares the bejesus out of me. 

2 thoughts on “Perplexed 

  1. I’m so so sorry to hear this. I left a message at our clinic on my drive into work today to say we decided to pursue a second round of IVF and it brought so many emotions flooding back. I know deep down that this is what I want to do, but it SUCKS SO MUCH. I’m sorry you’ll be heading down this path.

    Like

  2. Before our IVF consultation I watched tones of youtube videos. I found them to be really helpful in the sense that I was watching real people go through this process. They explain a lot, in detail, including emotions, meds, pain, etc. I felt a lot better after. But it is major. And if it is scary then yes stop reading! Maybe you can talk more with your doctor about it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

