Old Faithful

So today is Clomid round 3, day three. It’s Thursday, and of course that has me feeling much better about the day. This morning at work I went for my morning coffee walk, the sun was shining and it was going to be a great day! Although the day was moving at turtle speed, we are one day away from the weekend and no Clomid side effects! #winning

Wrong.

Exactly in the middle of a two hour meeting, there it was; it couldn’t leave me alone and let me enjoy not expericing side effects. My head was pulsating. It felt like a bass drum was inserted in my skull. 


When your skull feels as though someone is smashing it repeatedly from the inside, you want to crawl in a hole and smother yourself with anything to nullify the pain.   I could tell from the onset, this was going to be a nasty mother… I popped some pain relievers, crossed my fingers, and sat there fists clenched and head throbbing. After lunch it hadn’t gotten better, the pain had only amplified and I felt as though my head was being crushed. As someone who gets migraines,  this pain today was unparalleled. Minutes ticked by and by the end of the day, I was on the brink of tears. 

My drive home was excruciating. Finally, after what seemed like the never ending commute, I was walking through the door. I started sobbing. 


My.head.hurt.so.badly. 

I immediately changed into some comfy clothes, down two ibuprofen, chugged a glass of iced tea, and crawled into bed hoping that throughout the previous actions I’d knock myself out cold so I wouldn’t have to deal with the pain. I mean who wouldn’t run into their REs office and beg for Clomid after reading about this?! As I lay in bed with tears streaming down my cheeks, and in an intense amount of pain my only thought was “get through the night.” 
About 4 hours later, as I sit here in front of the tv, I am feeling like a different person. While I’ve knocked the headache out completely, I am exhausted. I told my DH It felt like someone had sucked the life out of me. Let’s talk about irony. I feel as though I’ve been drained of all life due to this medication, and I am taking this medication in hopes of carrying a life. How’s that for a brain teaser? These headaches have become my ‘old faithful’ throughout this experience. 

Knowing my Clomid headaches are back, tomorrow I’m sure will result in another doozy. 

7 thoughts on “Old Faithful

  1. The headaches sure sound painful! Can any relaxing head or neck massage help alleviate the pain? I’m sorry the side effects are so bad for you, those migraines sound way worse than my itchy privates while on Clomid. Is this a given for any kind of ovulation inducing drugs? Are there any other alternatives to discuss with the RE?

    Like

    • I think the headaches come wth fertility meds. From people that I’ve spoken with and what I’ve read, it’s par for the course. We will be discussing alternatives next month. I’m not taking the Clomid again. I’ll deal with whatever other side effects I may experience.

      Like

  2. omg that someecards HAHAHAHAHAHHA. I can totally relate – I just got through major letrozole migrains. It is absolutely the worst. And even more terrible is having to work while having headaches. I totally sympathize with you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

